Open Hours: Mon - Fri 07.30 am - 16.00 pm

Add Your Heading Text Here

About Us​

Matatiele Local Municipality is situated within the jurisdiction of the Alfred Nzo District Municipality. The Municipality is bound to the north by Lesotho, to the north east by KwaZulu Natal (KZN) and  Elundini Municipality to the south west. Umzimvubu Local Municipality is located to the south of Matatiele Local Municipality. The Municipality incorporates the towns of Matatiele, Cedarville and Maluti.

The Alfred Nzo District Municipality (ANDM) is one of the six District Municipalities within the Province of Eastern Cape (EC) and stretches from the Drakensberg Mountains in the north, Lesotho to the north west, O.R Tambo  District Municipality in the east and south and the Ukhahlamba District Municipality to the east.

ANDM forms the north eastern boundary of the EC Province and borders onto KwaZulu-Natal (KZN) to the north east.

The Matatiele Local Municipality(MLM) covers an area of 4352 km2 and constitutes 58 % of the Alfred Nzo District. MLM consists of 26 wards

MLM is transversed by the R56 (Regional Road) linking the Elundini Municipality to the West and the Kokstad Municipality in the South West.

Matatiele Local Municipality (EC144) was established on 1 March 2006. The Municipal area has undergone a number of amendments in terms of provincial municipal and ward demarcation which have had a profound impact on planning in the area. Prior to 1 March 2006 a municipality known as Matatiele Local Municipality (KZ5a3) comprised the towns of Matatiele and Cedarville and fell within the Sisonke District of Kwazulu Natal. From 1 March 2006, a new Matatiele Local Municipality was established which was incorporated into the Alfred Nzo District of the Eastern Cape. The newly established Matatiele Local Municipality includes the towns of Matatiele, Cedarville and the magisterial district of Maluti which formerly fell under the Umzimvubu Municipality and a rural district management area which formerly fell under the jurisdiction of the Alfred Nzo District Municipality.

Our Mission

Where Nature, Agriculture and Tourism are Investments of Choice.

Our Vision

To create an awareness on nature conservations, to promote and support agricultural activities, to promote, market Local Tourism Organizations and Small Medium and Micro Enterprises.

Meet Your TROIKA

Cllr. Sonwabile Mngenela
Cllr. Nonzwakazi Ngwanya
Cllr. Nomonde Nkukhu
Chief Whip
Mr. Lizo Matiwane
Municipal Manager
Scroll to Top